Skip to main content

10 Science: Individual Research Project

What is Plagiarism?

"Plagiarism is when you pretend that you have written or created a piece of work that someone else originated. It is cheating, it is dishonest, and it could jeopardise your HSC exam results."

NSW Education Standards Authority, 2017

Bibliographies

What’s a Bibliography? 
A bibliography is a list of all sources ( also called ‘references’ or 'citations') you used to create a report. 

Why is it important?

  • A correctly formatted Bibliography allows the reader to see the sources you have used to create your report and provides all the details needed to find them. 
  • The bibliographic details you record for each source quickly tell the reader about the sources you have used. It is an indication of the research you have conducted and the quality of the information used.
  • It shows that that you are aware of your responsibilities in using borrowed information and your awareness of plagiarism.

Why should I follow a format ?
You should list your sources according to the preferred College format given in the School Diary or created using the school's Citemaker.  Following the format consistently:

  • improves the readability of your work.  Your reader can easily read what information sources you have used.
  • demonstrates your skills as a academic scholar in selecting quality resources and acknowledging them correctly.

 
How should I list my sources? 
List your sources alphabetically by author or if no author by the title of the website. 


Why should I use Citemaker?
It tells you what bits of information you need to record for each source type and punctuates it (full stops, commas, etc). Using Citemaker for every source ensures the format is consistent.

What does a Bibliography look like?

Your Bibliography should have a heading, Bibliography.
Your references are listed in alphabetical order by author OR title of the website.
DO NOT bullet or number list your references.

An example of bibliography for a research report on child labour is shown below.

Bibiliography

Carpet Weaving, Rajastan, India. (2013). [Photograph]. Retrieved from https://c1.staticflickr.com/9/8077/8385084603_2760 2a294a_b.jpg

 

D'Adamo, F. (2005). IqbalNew York: Aladdin.


United Nations. (2017). Protect human rights. Retrieved from http://www.un.org/en/sections/what-we-do/protect-human-rights/index.html

 

Universal Declaration of Human Rights. (2017). In World Book Student. Retrieved from http://www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id= ar266540&st=universal+declaration+of#tab=homepage

 

What is Citemaker ?

St Pius X College | APA CiteMaker

CiteMaker.com is a smart citation machine and bibliography maker for formatting referenced in APA format. This online citation machine includes an in-text citation generator.


To make the most of this tool, login and create your account to save information into an online Bibliography. You can download the Citemaker Chrome extension on your Chrome browser to capture websites to your Bibliography.