Skip to Main Content

Research Skills: What's a Bibliography

Bibliographies

What’s a Bibliography? 
A bibliography is a list of all sources ( also called 'citations') you used to create a report. 

Why is it important?

  • A correctly formatted Bibliography allows the reader to see the sources you have used to create your report and provides all the details needed to find them. 
  • It shows that that you are aware of your responsibilities in using borrowed information and your awareness of plagiarism.

Why should I follow a format ?
You should list your sources according to the College's preferred style APA 7th edition. Following the format consistently:

  • makes your work easy to read
  • demonstrates that you are a good student who understand the importance of correctly acknowledging your sources

 
How should I list my sources? 
List your sources alphabetically by author OR if no author found by the title of the website. 


Why should I use Citemaker?
It tells you what bits of information you need to record for each source type and punctuates it (full stops, commas, etc).


Using Citemaker ensures that your sources are formatted consistently in the College preferred style, APA 7th Edition. 

What does a Bibliography look like?

Below is an example of bibliography for a research report on child labour. 

 

Bibiliography

D'Adamo, F. (2005). Iqbal. New York: Aladdin.


Carpet Weaving, Rajastan, India. (2013). [Photograph]. Retrieved from https://c1.staticflickr.com/9/8077/8385084603_2760 2a294a_b.jpg


United Nations. (2017). Protect human rights. Retrieved from http://www.un.org/en/sections/what-we-do/protect-human-rights/index.html
 

Universal Declaration of Human Rights. (2017). In World Book Student. Retrieved from http://www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id= ar266540&st=universal+declaration+of#tab=homepage

 

Using Citemaker

Citemaker is a citation & bibliography maker which formats references in APA style, the College's preferred style. 
* includes a BONUS in-text 'author-date' citation generator.

In 2 minutes, see how Citemaker can help you create a citation for your Bibliography

Citemaker Graphic Link

What is Citemaker Citeweb?

Download the Chrome Extension:
CiteWeb 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use Citeweb
to tag sources on the web.
Bookmark
http://www.citemaker.com/spx.nsw/
to access & export your Bibliography

APA 7th Edition: what's new & different?

Hoe to use CiteMaker