Skip to main content

12 Science Extension

Year 12 Science Extension

This guide supports the Outcomes of this subject, specifically:

  • SE-1 refines and applies the Working Scientifically processes in relation to scientific research

  • SE-3 interrogates relevant and valid peer-reviewed scientific research to develop a scientific research question, hypothesis, proposal and plan

  • SE-6  analyses and reports on a contemporary issue or an application of science informed by either primary or secondary-sourced data, or both, in relation to relevant publicly available data sets

  • SE-7 communicates analysis of an argument or conclusion incorporating appropriate scientific language and referencing techniques in a scientific report
     

Please ask or email Mrs Keighery for individual assistance. 

Secondary Sources: Online Britannica Encyclopedia

Secondary Sources: Reference encyclopedia

Secondary sources: find journal articles

Secondary Sources: Academic journals or magazines 

Articles from periodical or journals is referred to as 'Journal literature' and it's the key source of information for the Sciences. Journal articles provide valid, reliable and up-to-date information on your topic.

Use Science in Context to find academic journal articles. 

Resources at Willoughby Library

catalogue   |   online databases
  • Use the catalogue to find books. 
  • Recommended databases: Science Reference Center, Academic Search Premier (multi-disciplinary) Australian & NZ Reference Centre ( local news and content, multi-disciplinary), Credo (reference books). 

Secondary Sources

Search Google Scholar


 


  • Google Scholar is an immense database of scholarly literature and includes the free version PUBMED of the major medical database Medline. 
  • Search Google Scholar after you have refined your search and are looking for specific information.

 

#FavLibraryCatalogue

TIPS for searching Science in Context and other databases

Follow these tips to improve the quality of hits in the library's databases:

  1. Use concrete and neutral words: a keyword. No phrases - unless it's term, then use quotes.
  2. Never type more the one or two words in a search box. Go to the Advanced Search page to separate keywords into multiple boxes.
  3. If you are not finding what you need, try to change or add keywords.
  4. Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) and truncation (*) to expand and narrow results. 
  5. Use filters/limiters on the left-hand or right-hand side of the screen to refine results.
  6. Choose a field from the drop-down menu next to the search box to narrow results. 
  7. Search for your keyword in the title