Skip to main content

11 & 12 Legal Studies

Legal studies

Legal Studies 


This guide is designed to help you with your legal research.
You might need help to find information, JUST ASK, we are here to help you.

You can email Mrs Keighery.


 

Define your Topic

Reference tools are helpful in defining your topic. 

Oxford Online Reference: Law (NSW State Library's eResource)
Online Britannic Encyclopedia ( On the Portal - Senior LIbrary tab)


Secondary Sources
 

Journal articles provide valuable information to broaden your understanding of the topic and support your argument. 

Search online databases to find relevant journal articles

  1. Law databases: AGIS Plus Text (NSW State Library's eResource) 

  2. Current affairs and newspaper: The Australia/NZ Reference Centre - Australian newspapers

  3. Points of View   Contains reports on issues which present both sides or opposing points of view.

Browse print journals, check the library shelves: 

  • Issues in Society
  • Hot Topics 

Browse the online journal on the Australia and NZ Reference Centre

  • Legaldate
  • ​ Australian International Law Journal
  •  Australian Journal of Forensic Sciences
  •  Crime & Justice Bulletin

 

Legislation 
Identify which laws apply to your topic: Austlii

Case Law 
Supports your argument by showing how the law applies to specific cases. Find evidence in cases: Austlii


Recommended Websites 

State Library of NSW's Find LegalAnswers

State Library of NSW's HSC Legal studies guide

NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research
Australian Institute of Criminology
Corrective Services NSW
Juvenile Justice NSW
Judicial Commission of NSW
Human Rights Watch

Law and Justice Foundation search reports and other law materials incl. legislation 

ABC's RadioNational Law Report 

Listen to radio podcasts on a range of contemporary issues. 
For example, Sentencing Reforms (2014) 
Professor Andrew Ashworth, one of the United Kingdom’s most respected experts in sentencing, says prison should be kept only for those who commit violent crimes. He believes the right to liberty overshadows the right to property and thieves and fraudsters should not be jailed (10 mins).

More SUPER EASY databases to access

Additional databases are available through

  • Willoughby Library. Join up here.
  • the State Library of NSW. You will need a library card to access them - apply here.


 

Secondary sources

Journal articles provide valuable information to broaden your understanding of the topic and support your argument. 


Search online databases to find relevant journal articles

  1. Law databases: AGIS Plus Text (NSW State Library's eResource) 

  2. Current affairs and newspaper: The Australia/NZ Reference Centre - Australian newspapers

  3. Points of View   Contains reports on issues which present both sides or opposing points of view.

Browse print journals, check the library shelves: 

  • Issues in Society

  • Hot Topics 

Browse the online journal on the Australia and NZ Reference Centre

  • Legaldate

  • ​ Australian International Law Journal

  •  Australian Journal of Forensic Sciences

  •  Crime & Justice Bulletin

 

Themis photo by R. Allen, Flickr.