Skip to main content

Book Week: Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Matthew Lin

Eve Pownall Award for Information


The Children's Book of the Year Award: Eve Pownall Award for Information Books was first presented in 1988, when the award was financed by Eve Pownall's family. Since 1993 it has been awarded annually by the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA).

The Award "will be made to outstanding books which have the prime intention of documenting factual material with consideration given to imaginative presentation, interpretation and variation of style. As general guidelines, the judges may consider the relative success of the book in balancing and harmonising the following elements:

  • style of language and presentation;
  • graphic excellence;
  • clarity, appropriateness and aesthetic appeal of illustration;
  • integration of text, graphics and illustration to engage interest and enhance understanding;
  • overall design of the book to facilitate the presentation of information;
  • accuracy with regard to the current state of knowledge."[1]

Make Believe: M. C. Escher for Kids

The Mathematical Art Of M.C. Escher

The Art of the Impossible: MC Escher and Me - Secret Knowledge

Our Birds: Ŋilimurruŋgu Wäyin Malanynha by Siena Stubbs


Rich bird life, culture inspires Yirrkala teenager Siena Stubbs to become published author

Bouncing Back: An Eastern Barred Bandicoot Story by Rohan Cleave, Illus. Coral Tulloch

Act Wild for Eastern Barred Bandicoots

Save our Eastern Barred Bandicoots

Waves by Donna Rawlins, Illus. Mark Jackson, Heather Potter,

Sorry Day by Coral Vass, Illus Dub Leffler

The Happiness Box: A Wartime Book of Hope by Mark Greenwood, Illus. Andrew McLean