library: 12 History Extension: Resources

Secondary sources: journal articles and ebooks & chapters

Secondary Sources: Academic journals or magazines

Articles from periodicals, magazines or journals is referred to as 'Journal literature'. Journal articles provide valid, reliable and up-to-date information on your topic.

Use History Reference Source to find academic journal articles.

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Covering topics in world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents. When you are at home, you'll need to access this via the LIbrary Canvas Page.
Access via your CANVAS Senior Library when you're at home.

Search journals, books, images, and primary sources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. When you're at home, select the Microsoft account login option.
When you're at home, select the Microsoft account login option.

Broaden your search to include news & current affairs.

Explora This link opens in a new window
Widen your search; search across all EBSCO databases at once. This includes news and currrent affairs. When you are at home, you'll need to access this via the LIbrary Canvas Page.

* Please note, due to licence agreements, you'll need to follow these intructions to access thse resources from home options:

1. For JSTOR, you can click on the JSTOR icon from home - go to top right RED login button and use your Microsoft logins to gain access

2. To access History Reference Source or Explora databases, go to the CANVAS Library page

State Library of NSW

catalogue | online eResources

Find books and other published material in the State Library of NSW catalogue. This catalogue also includes ebooks. You can use your State Library card to download e-books for up to 3 weeks. Books from our collection may also be available on interlibrary loan through your local public library.

Modern History resources at the State Library of NSW

History Extension Resources

Year 12 History Extension

Year 12: History Extension

This guide supports your assessment tasks' Outcome to:

HE12-2 plans, conducts and presents a substantial historical investigation involving analysis, synthesis and evaluation of information from historical sources of differing perspectives and historical approaches.

As well as the Guidelines to:
Reference sources accurately and in accordance with College guidelines.

Please ask or email Mrs Keighery for individual assistance.

History Extension essays

Resources at Willoughby Library

catalogue | online databases

Use the catalogue to find books

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an immense database of scholarly literature
Search Google Scholar after you have refined your search and are looking for specific information.
If you have found a pivotal article, use Google Scholar to see how many times it has been cited or who's cited it recently.

Australian Historical Newspapers

Trove This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Australia & partners, Trove, is a digitised collection over 1000 historic Australian newspapers and gazettes.